Lionel Messi Wins 2010 Ballon D'Or

Lionel Messi Wins 2010 Ballon D'Or


Lionel Messi Wins 2010 Ballon D'Or

France Football awarded Leo Messi his second-straight Ballon D’Or, the award granted to the best player in international soccer.  Messi, the player of his generation, scored 60 goals for Argentina and Barcelona during the 2010 calendar year.  He has 18 goals (more than seven entire clubs) and 12 assists through 15 matches this seasons.  His teammates Xavi and Andres Iniesta were the runners up.

Messi is the first player since Hristo Stoichov in 1994 to win the award in a World Cup year, without winning the World Cup.  This could be testament to the primacy of major European club soccer, how awesome Messi is or just how bad the soccer quality was in South Africa.

France Football’s World XI

Iker Casillas (R. Madrid, Spain), Maicon (Inter, Brazil), Gerard Pique (Barcelona, Spain), Lucio (Inter, Brazil), Carles Puyol (Barcelona, Spain), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona, Spain), Xavi (Barcelona, Spain), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan, Holland), Cristiano Ronaldo (R. Madrid, Portugal), David Villa (Barcelona, Spain), Leo Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)

Latest Leads

More Soccer