Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2011 Announced

The selections are in. Your class of 2011 for the Pro Football Hall of Fame consists of Marshall Faulk, Deion Sanders, Richard Dent, Ed Sabol, and Shannon Sharpe, along with senior candidates Chris Hanburger and Les Richter.

As a result, no offensive linemen were selected, even though there were two slam dunk choices–Willie Roaf and Dermontti Dawson. For the second year in a row, Andre Reed made the cut to the final ten, but was not selected, while Cris Carter and Tim Brown did not even make the final ten again. Quite frankly, I give up trying to understand what the committee looks at. Obviously, politics plays a key role behind closed doors.

I have no problem with Richard Dent in the Hall in the abstract. I think he was a great player from when I was a kid. I do question, for the second year in a row, taking a borderline candidate who doesn’t rank in the top 75% of HOF’ers at his position over guys who are clear cut Hall of Famers and have now been passed over multiple times. Dermontti Dawson is atop that list, along with Carter and Brown, and you can now add Willie Roaf. Jason Whitlock will not be happy.

[photo via Getty]

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!