J.R. Hildebrand Hits the Wall on the Final Turn, Dan Wheldon Wins the Indy 500

Rookie J.R. Hildebrand took the lead late when Danica Patrick and then Bertrand Baguette had to make pit stops with less than 10 laps remaining, and looked like he would have enough fuel to hold on for an amazing victory. Then, he went high going around the final turn passing another driver, and slammed into the wall. Dan Wheldon, the 2005 champion, came racing through the improbable opening, and went from a situation where he didn’t have a full-time ride in 2011 to winning the Indianapolis 500 for a second time.

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!