Sports Business

LSU S Reid Named FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week

The Southeastern Conference showdown between nationally ranked No. 1 LSU and No. 2 Alabama in Tuscaloosa last Saturday produced only five field goals. And Eric Reid perhaps provided the deciding defensive play in the game won by LSU, 9-6, in overtime.

For his efforts, the LSU safety has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Nov. 5.

The 6-2, 208-pound sophomore from Geismar, La., intercepted a pass at the 1-yard line after Alabama had driven to the LSU 28 in the fourth quarter.

Reid also forced a fumble and made six tackles – including one for a six-yard loss – to help keep the Tigers unbeaten. LSU held Alabama to a season-low six points, rushing yards (96) and total yards (295).

Other players who has strong games on defense included:

• Terrell Manning, LB, North Carolina State: Manning had 11 tackles and a sack during NC State’s 13-0 win over intrastate rival UNC.

• Justin Francis, DT, Rutgers (Pictured): Francis had 11 tackles, four tackles-for-loss (including two sacks), three quarterback hurries and a pass breakup in a 20-17 OT win over the University of Southern Florida. Teammate Khaseem Greene (LB) had 17 tackles.

• Hakeem Smith, S, Louisville: In a 38-35 victory over West Virginia, Smith caused a fumble that led to a Louisville field goal, had seven tackles and three assisted tackles.

• Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas: Jeffcoat had seven tackles (4 solo), 1.5 sacks, three tackles for losses and one quarterback pressure in a 52-20 blasting of Texas Tech.

• Conroy Black, CB, Utah: In a 34-21 win over Arizona, Black had an interception in the end zone that he returned for 57 yards, two tackles and an assist.

• Jon Davis, S, Air Force: The senior had 12 tackles, an interception, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery in a 24-14 win over Army.

Reid will be added to the 2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 17.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 12 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!