Carlos Santana Hit a Home Run But Awarded Himself a Double

Indians catcher Carlos Santana hit a two-run homer off Everett Teaford in the top of the fifth inning of Thursday night’s game against the pitiful Royals. The only glaring problem was Santana thought he had hit a double, or perhaps felt a little sympathy for the 44-60 Royals, so he stopped at second base and performed a self-congratulatory fist-bump routine until eventually figuring out he had the green light to round the bases. Santana and the famously presumptuous Carlos Gomez should go ahead and pick a night to go bowling together.

Sadly, this innocent gaffe is probably the most newsworthy “event” to take place at Kaufmann Stadium since Mariano Rivera tore his ACL shagging fly balls.

Of even greater significance might be to remind you that the aforementioned Teaford once fit into Jonathan Broxton’s right pant leg.

[via @MLB]

Previously: Carlos Gomez Mistakes Foul Ball For Home Run, Circles the Bases, Then Strikes Out
Previously: Mariano Rivera Carted Off Field With Knee Injury During Batting Practice
Previously: Minor League Umpire Ejects Guy in Charge of Stadium Music for Playing “Three Blind Mice”

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!