MLB

Melky Cabrera Will Not Win the National League Batting Title

Baseball’s record book will remain unsullied. Melky Cabrera, at his behest, has been declared ineligible to win the NL Batting Title. MLB and the Players Association agreed to a “one-time amendment” to a rule that disqualifies him for his PED suspension.

Cabrera was suspended one at bat short of qualifying for the NL batting title. Under baseball rules, he could have counted the missing at bat as an out, which still would have left him at .346, and have been declared the winner. Cabrera ranked sixth in OBP at .390, which is far more relevant.

[Photo via Presswire]

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Leads

prev.loading
nextloading