POWERED BY

Video

Did Tiger Woods Take Another Improper Drop on His Way to Winning The Players Championship? [Video]

Tiger Woods took an “improper drop” at the Masters in April, and was penalized two strokes for it. After Sunday’s round at the Players, some are asking if Tiger took another but this time escaped penalty. On the Par 4 14th hole, Tiger hit his tee shot left and into the water. The ball did not appear to drastically hook and seemed to travel straight into the hazard. Tiger then discussed the drop with his playing partner, Casey Wittenberg, and determined the ball did cross over the margin into the hazard.

After the round, Wittenberg told media members:

“I saw it perfectly off the tee. I told him exactly where I thought it crossed, and we all agreed, so he’s definitely great on that. There is no doubt, guys. The ball crossed where he dropped.”

The ball does not appear to hook that much in the video from any angle making it very difficult to tell if the ball did cross the margin at the point of the drop.

The PGA Tour, who was obviously hoping to avoid another Masters controversy, released the following statement about the drop while Woods was still on the course:

“Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods’ ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgement by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17).”

tiger-hook

[HT Devil Ball Golf]

Related: Television Viewers Reporting Possible Tiger Woods Rules Infractions: A Tradition Unlike Any Other
Related: Tiger Woods Responds to Penalty, Doesn’t Sound Like a Guy Who’s Going to Withdraw
Related: Tiger Woods Two Shot Penalty Ruling at the Masters (Instead of Disqualification) Does Not Sit Well with Many
Related: Tiger Woods Avoids Disqualification at Masters, Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty
Related: Tiger Woods is Three Shots Back, In Part Because This Beautiful Shot on 15 Hit the Pin and Bounced Into the Water

 

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Leads

prev.loading
nextloading