POWERED BY

MLB

Alex Sanabia of the Marlins Caught Throwing a Spitball Against the Phillies [GIF]

alex-sanabia-spitball

Alex Sanabia spit on a baseball before he pitched it during Monday’s Marlins – Phillies game. A spitball! Those are illegal! And the Marlins actually won. This is going to be a huge controvers-ehh where is everyone going?

Sanabia gave up seven hits, one earned run and struck out three. After Sanabia gave up his one run – a home run to Domonic Brown in the 2nd – Sanabia was shown on television spitting on the new baseball. David Brown of Big League Stew argues that the spit was so far before the next pitch and Sanabia rubbed the ball so hard that it probably didn’t make a difference.

However you feel about the rookie’s application of saliva to the baseball, umpires and opposing teams will likely be watching him closely the rest of the season. Or they will just ignore it because the Marlins – tied with the Astros at 13-32 for the worst record in baseball – are so bad that they need to cheat to compete.

[gif via Crossing Broad]

blog comments powered by Disqus

Latest Leads