Umpires Screw Up Another Call on This Texas Rangers 'Double Play' [GIF]


It hasn’t been a banner year for umpiring in Major League Baseball and it took another turn for the worse Friday night in Seattle during the Rangers 9-5 win over the Mariners.

In the second inning the Mariners hit into a double play, except they really didn’t.

Seattle’s Jesus Sacre, in his first big league at-bat, hit a grounder to Mitch Moreland at first, who then threw to Elvis Andrus at second for the force out. Andrus’ return throw was intercepted by Rangers pitcher Justin Grimm — at least 4-5 feet away from first base.  Somehow Sacre was still called out by umpire Jeff Nelson, in what was initially scored a 3-6-3 double play. (Later it was changed to a 3-6-1.)

Seattle manager Eric Wedge came out to argue … that Moreland was off the bag when he “caught” it. He told the Tacoma News-Tribune:

“I thought (Moreland) came off the bag, so that was what I was out there arguing. I didn’t come to find out until later with the replay that he didn’t even catch the ball. … It would have been a much bigger argument if I had known that at the time, no doubt about it.”

Replay, in some form, can’t come soon enough.

[GIF via r/Baseball]

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!

blog comments powered by Disqus

Because you want to see it first.

Like and follow The Big Lead today!