NFL Worst-to-First Streak at 10 Years. Who Will it Be in 2013?

Super Bowl XLIVThe best streak in the NFL: For 10 straight years, a team has made the leap from last place to first place in its division. In 2012, it was the Washington Redskins, who – thanks to RG3 – rebounded from the cellar in 2011 (5-11) to win the NFC East (10-6). Here are the nine winners prior to Washington (previous year’s record in parens):

2003: Carolina Panthers (7-9)/Kansas City Chiefs (8-8)
2004: Atlanta Falcons (5-11)/San Diego Chargers (4-12)
2005: Chicago Bears (5-11)/New York Giants (6-10)
2006: Philadelphia Eagles (6-10)/New Orleans Saints (3-13)/Baltimore Ravens (6-10)
2007: Tampa Bay Buccaneers (4-12)
2008: Miami Dolphins (1-15)
2009: New Orleans Saints (8-8)
2010: Kansas City Chiefs (4-12)
2011: Houston Texans (6-10)

It’s time to make guesses for 2013. We touched on the topic in January, but that was before free agency and the draft and injuries. Here are last year’s cellar-dwellers:

CJ Spiller long run against Atlanta

* Bills/Jets
* Browns
* Jaguars
* Chiefs
* Eagles
* Lions
* Panthers/Saints/Bucs
* Cardinals

Teams you can completely rule out: Browns, Jets, Jaguars, Cardinals.
One injury away from saying there’s a chance: Bills (Tom Brady), Chiefs (Peyton Manning).
My best bets:
* Saints. No brainer. Payton’s return can’t be underestimated. Falcons have a challenging schedule.
* Lions. Can they hurdle two playoff teams and the Bears? Offense will be there, and for some reason, I think the D will, too.

Because you want to see it first!

Like and follow The Big Lead today!

blog comments powered by Disqus

Because you want to see it first.

Like and follow The Big Lead today!