Anthony Barr, the UCLA linebacker who will be terrorizing NFL QBs on Sundays next Fall, pulverized New Mexico’s King Davis Saturday night, drilling him with a brutal, clean hit that knocked Davis out of the game. Of course, the referees, seeing the violent shot – Barr powerfully planted Davis into the turf – flagged Barr for the hit.
It was the wrong call.
It isn’t helmet-to-helmet. And you can see that Barr was within half a step of Davis when the ball was released. As a result, Barr will have to sit out the first half of UCLA’s first Pac-12 game, according to announcers (see below). Hopefully, that ruling will be reversed before UCLA plays 3-1 Utah in two weeks. [via Herbie]
[Ed. The announcers were incorrect. Barr was only flagged for "roughing the passer" and not "targeting," so no suspension. The "roughing the passer" call was incorrect, hopefully the Pac-12 chided them for that quick whistle.]
blog comments powered by Disqus