There is a lot of ambiguity about what does or does not constitute a catch in the NFL these days, but this is not a play where there is any question it should have been ruled an incompletion.
Jim Caldwell caught some grief for not challenging the ruling, but I disagree with that criticism. The difference was only four yards — 2nd and 10 vs. 2nd and 6 — and that’s just not enough upside to justify using a challenge less than two minutes into the game.
Even if you win — which, yes, he certainly would have — you’re in a position where you’re hesitant to challenge anything else going forward for nearly the whole game because if you get that one wrong then you’re out of them.
Now, was this a bad call by the officials? Yes, but it’s not as though it had earth-shattering stakes.