Bobby Wagner leapt over the line twice on Arizona field goals today. Both times, he grazed the Cardinals’ long snapper. The first time, Wagner blocked the field goal, and Chandler Catanzaro shanked the second. Bruce Arians thought Seattle should have been penalized both times, and isn’t going to be satisfied with the league’s explanation.
Here was NFL Senior VP of Officiating Dean Blandino’s explanation on the first occasion:
Blandino’s word isn’t always the gospel — a fact not lost on Arians — but Mike Pereira’s is, and he concurred at least on the first call:
Expect to hear a lot of shouting and differing interpretations of the rule on Monday’s debate circuit. And, as refreshing as his candor may be, Arians will surely be getting a FedEx’ed fine letter from the league this week.