Minnesota Suspended TEN Players For Holiday Bowl

Minnesota Suspended TEN Players For Holiday Bowl


Minnesota Suspended TEN Players For Holiday Bowl

Minnesota has suspended 10 players indefinitely, after the university’s Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action office investigated an alleged sexual assault in September.

Five players missed games earlier in the season, as the legal process played out. No players were charged. Per the Star Tribune, Minnesota resuspended those players and an additional five who were in the apartment.

The suspended players are Ray Buford, Carlton Djam, Seth Green, KiAnte Hardin, Dior Johnson, Tamarion Johnson, Kobe McCrary, Antonio Shenault, Mark Williams and Antoine Winfield Jr.

Players can appeal the EOAA punishment recommendations. The report was “unclear” whether the appeals would happen before facing Washington State in the Holiday Bowl.

If those suspensions hold, that could be quite significant for the Golden Gophers. KiAnte Hardin and Antoine Winfield Jr. are starters in the secondary. Antonio Shenault and Ray Buford also saw significant time in the defensive backfield. Washington State ranked third nationally, averaging 51.1 passing attempts per game.


Latest Leads