Alize Cornet Took Shirt Off On Court, Shouldn't Have Been Penalized

Alize Cornet

Alize Cornet Took Shirt Off On Court, Shouldn't Have Been Penalized

Tennis

Alize Cornet Took Shirt Off On Court, Shouldn't Have Been Penalized

Alize Cornet received a code violation at the U.S. Open on Tuesday for taking off her shirt on the court. Cornet had taken a break and returned to the court before realizing she had her shirt on backwards. So, she did the natural thing:

She was immediately issued a violation by the court umpire, but it turns out, she shouldn’t have been.

The USTA has since said it is not a violation for players to change attire during the match, regardless of gender. Luckily, she was only given a warning with no other penalty involved.

Cornet lost the match to Johanna Larsson 6-4, 3-6, 2-6.

Honestly though, I’m cool with her changing her shirt on the court. Anyone doing anything to liven up a tennis match is OK by me.

Latest Leads

More Big Lead
Home